english 101
Tuesday, 10. September 2002
"Remembered Event'

If you take a look at a high school senior’s typical day, you will probably see parties, sports, and maybe a scholarship application or two. However, I was not a typical high school senior. I had no desire to go partying, shopping, or do anything else other teen-agers would find exciting. Unlike the rest of my generation, I was burdened with responsibilities. Not responsibilities like just graduating high school and working 15 hours a week. I juggled being president of Key Club, vice president of Spanish Honorary, secretary of National Honor Society, treasurer of Interact, captain of the varsity tennis team, and maintaining a 4.0+ grade point average, among other things. Now, I’m not saying that I’m Superwoman. I’m just saying that I am one busy little girl.
A typical day would start around 5:45 AM. I had probably gotten six hours of sleep or less that night because I was usually up late typing reports or worrying about the next Key Club activity. After taking a quick shower and grabbing some food on the run, I was heading toward wonderful Cabell Midland High School. While walking through the concourse, I would hear the normal, useless conversations like “Oh gosh, can you believe she did that?” and “Those shoes are so cute!” Although I found this amusing, I kept walking because I knew I had more important things to do, like attend class. First I went to boring English where the teacher would constantly treat us as if we had the reading comprehension of a five-year-old. My television class was my favorite. While most of the class watched Spongebob Squarepants or played “Link 4” on the computer, I would go to Mr. Jenkins’ room. Mr. Jenkins was the hardest working teacher I know and was also our Key Club adviser. I would spend countless hours in his room making phone calls, filling out reports, and setting up our next projects.
After lunch was show choir. We spent every day singing and dancing our hearts out. Show choir was something I loved very much because I have been singing since I can remember. I was honored to be part of this group, and even more excited to be a soloist. I always seemed to worm my way out of going to my last two classes. Instead, I would go to Mr. Jenkins’ room for more Key Club work.
Every Thursday after school, I would host the weekly Key Club meeting. For 30 minutes we would discuss the week’s activities, sign up for projects, and think of fundraising ideas. Most of my senior year revolved around Key Club. The friends that I have made and the joy I get by helping others makes this club so special.
After Key Club, I hurriedly changed clothes and raced to the tennis courts lined beside the school. The team would either have practice for two hours or a match. Following tennis and a quick dinner, I would drive to the Ponderosa Steakhouse on Route 60 for the Kiwanis meeting. I have and will continue to attend ever Kiwanis meeting I can. The gentlemen are great and so wonderful to talk to.
Finally, by 8:30, I would be lying on my bed writing essays, studying for tests, or translating Spanish. In a few hours, I would nestle underneath my warm comforter and start the whole process over again. If you thought that was hectic, you should have seen my weekends!
I realize the importance of being well-rounded, and although some people consider what I do remarkable, it is not something extraordinary like Mary Catherine Bateson makes things out to be in this essay. Because of my extra-curricular involvement, I think I have become a better person. Everything I have done has broadened my horizons, opened me up to more opportunities, and made me a stronger leader. I am definitely a “go-getter” and hopefully because of my attitude and determination now, I will be successful in the future.

Online for 7932 days
Last modified: 9/3/02, 2:32 PM
Status
Youre not logged in ... Login
Menu
... Home
... Tags

Search
Calendar
May 2024
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031
November
Recent updates
Profile rough draft “Call Mrs.
Smith Tuesday.” “Pick up brakes for Kelly’s car.” “Check out...
by EmilyAnn (11/7/02, 2:35 AM)
Plan of action I plan
to use an activity, multi-tasking, for my profile paper. After...
by EmilyAnn (10/31/02, 3:07 PM)
Obituary for Stress Stress- (Since
the beginning of time-now; will never die completely, just die...
by EmilyAnn (10/20/02, 7:52 PM)
Memoir, "The Daily Grind" A
high school senior’s typical day probably includes parties, sports, and...
by EmilyAnn (9/25/02, 4:06 AM)
Whoops on 2 Voice I
can't figure out how to fix the 2 Voice thing....
by EmilyAnn (9/17/02, 6:19 PM)
Two Voice Poem Husband
Wife I don’t understand I don’t understand Why this is such...
by EmilyAnn (9/17/02, 6:16 PM)
"Remembered Event'
If you take a look at a high school senior’s typical day, you...
by EmilyAnn (9/17/02, 6:12 PM)
Attending a World Themes Main
theme: Women's "peripheral vision." Key Words: Attention Awareness Focus
by EmilyAnn (9/3/02, 3:03 PM)
This is me: Emily Hello
class! Welcome to my weblog! I love to write, although...
by EmilyAnn (8/29/02, 9:38 PM)
test nothing
by EmilyAnn (8/29/02, 2:41 PM)
test nothing yet
by EmilyAnn (8/29/02, 2:40 PM)
test nothing yet again
by EmilyAnn (8/29/02, 2:39 PM)
test nothing yet
by EmilyAnn (8/29/02, 2:38 PM)
test nothing yet
by EmilyAnn (8/29/02, 2:38 PM)
test nothing yet
by EmilyAnn (8/29/02, 2:37 PM)
test nada
by EmilyAnn (8/29/02, 2:36 PM)
test this is my text!!!!
by EmilyAnn (8/29/02, 2:35 PM)

RSS feed

Made with Antville
Helma Object Publisher